Managing Users

Users are specific persons or teams that you can add to your account to view and interact with your call data. Different user types have different privileges, like login access, as well as editing and creating tracking numbers and settings.

Use this articles to learn how to:

  • Add a new user to your account.
  • Promote a user so they have more account-wide permissions
  • Invite an existing user to a new company you’ve created
  • Delete a user from your account.

Getting Started

Before adding a new user to your account, decide which type of access they should have to your data. There are 4 different types of users in CallRail:

  • Administrators have complete access to every company in your account and have the ability to add companies, users, and tracking numbers. They also have access to all configurations, included creating call flows, adding call tags, company customizations, and billing and invoice information.

  • Managers can create and edit tracking phone numbers, call flows, and users within any company they’ve been assigned to by an administrator. They won't be able to create or delete companies. They’ll also have the same permissions as Reporting and Notification users as outlined below.

  • Reporting users have limited access to companies they’ve been assigned to. They’ll see call data associated with these companies, and can make notes on calls, listen to recorded calls, as well as tag and score calls. Reporting users also have access to integrations in the company they are assigned to. This means they can activate, deactivate, and change any integration in their company. Reporting users won’t be able to create or modify tracking numbers.

  • Notification users can receive email notifications for tracking numbers, as well as company summary emails. They won’t have login access to the CallRail account.

Video Tutorial

Here's a video tutorial that will guide you through creating a new user and notification:

(Administrators) Add a User

Use these instructions if you're an administrator adding a new user to your account. Once you’ve added them to your account, you can easily assign them to receive company summary emails, as well as call and text notification emails.

  1. Choose Account at the top of the page, then click Users.

    users.png

  2. Select + Add User at the top of the page.



  3. Choose the type of user you’d like to add.



  4. Fill in the new user's first and last name, as well as the email address they should use to log into their account. Then, click Next: Companies.



  5. Select the companies this user should have access to. If you're creating a Notification user, you'll click Create User to finish the user creation process. For every other user type, you'll click Next: Invitation Type



  6. Choose the invitation type. If you select “Email the user login instructions,” they’ll receive an email that contains a link where they can create their own password. Finally, click Create User.



  7. Once you've created your new user, you can choose one of the suggested next steps, or click Return to Users to close the modal.



(Managers) Add a User

Use these instructions if you're a manager with access to only specific companies. Once you’ve added users to your companies, you can easily assign them to receive company summary emails, as well as call and text notification emails.

  1. Choose Account at the top of the page, then click Companies.

    companies.png

  2. Find the company where you'd like to add a user. Click the Gear icon, then select Edit Users.

    screenshot_5466.png

  3. Select + Add User at the top of the page.



  4. Choose the type of user you’d like to add.

    screenshot_5467.png

  5. Fill in the new user's first and last name, as well as the email address they should use to log into their account. Then, click Next: Companies.



  6. Select the companies this user should have access to. If you're creating a Notification user, you'll click Create User to finish the user creation process. For every other user type, you'll click Next: Invitation Type



  7. Choose the invitation type. If you select “Email the user login instructions,” they’ll receive an email that contains a link where they can create their own password. Finally, click Create User.



  8. Once you've created your new user, you can choose one of the suggested next steps, or click Return to Users to close the modal.



Promote a User

Any administrator can promote an existing user within an account. Managers can promote any existing user in a company that they’re assigned to. This will give the user more permissions and access to account information, depending upon the user type they're promoted to.

  1. Choose Account at the top of the page, then click Users.

    users.png

  2. Select the Gear icon for the user you’d like to promote, then click Edit User.

    screenshot_4411.png

  3. On the right side of the page, choose one of the buttons that promotes the user to the role of your choice.



  4. A pop-up will appear that explains what this user will have access to once they're promoted. Click the first button to Promote once you've read and understood their permissions.



  5. If you're promoting a Notification user, they'll now have login access to your account. Select their invitation type so they'll have login access to the account, then click Promote User

Invite a User to a New Company

If you’ve created a new company in your account, and you’d like to give certain users access to it, you can invite them through that company’s user management page. Once you've invited them to the new company, they’ll be able to access it automatically without having to make any changes to their account. Only administrators are able to create new companies and invite users to them.

  1. Choose Account at the top of the page, then click Companies.

    companies.png

  2. Select the Gear icon for the user you’d like to promote, then click Edit Users.

    screenshot_5462.png

  3. Select Invite User at the top of the page.



  4. Click the + on the right side of the page for each user you’d like to add to your new company.



Delete a User

An administrator can remove any user from your account. Managers can remove any user within a company they’re assigned to. Once a user has been deleted, they will no long have access to the account, alerts, or emails configured for their username.

  1. Choose Account at the top of the page, then click Users.

    users.png

  2. Select the Gear icon for the user you'd like to remove, then click Delete User.

    screenshot_4423.png

  3. Click OK to confirm you’d like to delete this user.



  4. A green bar will appear at the top of your page to confirm the user has been removed.



FAQs

Can I demote a user?

There’s not currently a way to demote a user; however, you’re able to delete and then add them back to your account as your preferred user type.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Was this article helpful?