Users

Users are specific persons or teams that you can add to your account to view and interact with your lead data. Different user types have different privileges, like setting up integrations, as well as editing or creating tracking numbers and settings.


Getting Started

Before adding a new user to your account, decide which type of access they should have to your data. Here's an overview of the permissions associated with each user type:

  Admin Manager Reporting
Receive and respond to notification and summary emails. screenshot_1551.png screenshot_1551.png screenshot_1551.png
Access to review call recordings, reports, and Lead Center. screenshot_1551.png screenshot_1551.png screenshot_1551.png
Receive calls and place outbound calls from the Call Log and Lead Center. screenshot_1551.png screenshot_1551.png  screenshot_1551.png 
Ability to tag calls, make notes, and mark calls as qualified leads. screenshot_1551.png screenshot_1551.png screenshot_1551.png
Access to setup and disable integrations. screenshot_1551.png screenshot_1551.png  
Create, edit, or disable tracking numbers and call flows. screenshot_1551.png screenshot_1551.png  
Create or disable users of equal or lesser access. screenshot_1551.png    
Create and disable companies. screenshot_1551.png    
Activate and edit white label settings. screenshot_1551.png    
View invoices, update credit card information or change pricing plans. screenshot_1551.png    
Access "Bulk Enablement" tools screenshot_1551.png    
Close or pause an account screenshot_1551.png    

 

Each of these user-types has the option to become an Agent as well if you're using Lead Center. If you need to create a new user that is also an Agent, we recommend using these instructions instead. Or, if you need to see how to give an existing user Agent permissions, check out this help article instead.


Note: Manager-level users on white-labeled accounts will only have the ability to edit certain integrations that do not mention CallRail's company name.


Add a User (Administrators only)

Use these instructions if you're an administrator adding a new user to your account. Once you’ve added them to your account, you can easily assign them to receive company summary emails, as well as call and text notification emails.

  1. Click the Account icon in the top left to open the My Account panel, then select Users.

  2. Click the Create User button.

  3. You'll see a screen that asks if you'd like this user to be a Lead Center Agent. Choose the answer that best fits your business use case to move onto the next step.

  4. Depending on your Agent selection in the first screen, you'll be asked to choose a user type. Use the table at the beginning of this article to see which permissions you'd like your new user to have, then click User Info.

  5. Enter your new user's first name, last name, and email address. The email you enter here will be the login email address they'll use. To protect the security of everyone's login information, all users you invite to your account will need to use this email to set their own password. You won't be able to set a password for someone else. 

  6. Select the companies the user will have access to, then click Review to move to the next step.

  7. Review your user's information to confirm their login details and any seat costs are correct (if you're using Lead Center). You can also write a message that we'll include in the email we send them to invite them to join your account if you'd like.

  8. If you're adding an administrator to your account, you can click the checkbox to allow them to receive invoice emails. This step is optional as well. Once you're ready to move to the next step, click Send.

    screenshot_3399.png


  9. At this point, we'll send an email to your new user asking them to set their password. You can choose one of the suggested next steps, or click Return to Users to close the pop-up. 

Promote a User

Any administrator can promote an existing user within an account. This will give the user more permissions and access to account information, depending upon the user type they're promoted to.

  1. Click the Account icon in the top left to open the My Account panel, then select Users.

  2. Find the user you'd like to promote. Click the Pencil icon, then select Edit User.

  3. On the right side of the page, choose one of the buttons that promotes the user to the role of your choice.

  4. A pop-up will appear that explains what this user will have access to once they're promoted. Click the first button to Promote once you've read and understood their permissions.

  5. If you're promoting a Notification user, they'll now have login access to your account. Select their invitation type so they'll have login access to the account, then click Promote User.

Invite a User to a New Company

If you’ve created a new company in your account, and you’d like to give certain users access to it, you can invite them through that company’s user management page. Once you've invited them to the new company, they’ll be able to access it automatically without having to make any changes to their account. Only administrators are able to create new companies and invite users to them.

  1. Click the Account icon in the top left, then select Account Settings.

  2. Select All Companies from the left menu, and then Active from the top of the list on the following page.

  3. Find the company where you'd like to add a user. Click the Gear icon, then select Edit Users.

  4. Click the link to invite an existing user from another company at the top of the page.

  5. Click the + on the right side of the page for each user you’d like to add to your new company.

Delete a User

An administrator can remove any user from your account. Once a user has been deleted, they will no longer have access to the account, alerts, or emails configured for their username.

  1. Click the Account icon in the top left, then select Users.

  2. Select the Trash icon at the right of the user's row that you'd like to remove.

  3. Click Delete to confirm you’d like to delete this user.

FAQs

Can I demote a user?

There’s not a way to demote a user; however, you’re able to delete and then add them back to your account as your preferred user type.

What happened to Notification Only users?

We deprecated Notification Only users in September of 2020 in favor of email-only users. If you'd like for a colleague or coworker to receive notifications about calls and texts, use the instructions in this article instead and enter their email address. This allows your colleague to receive notifications without having login access to your CallRail account:

Call and Text Notifications

Can I resend an invite to a user I've added to my company?

Yes. Invites can be resent by navigating to the invitee in the Users screen and clicking Resend Invitation under the "Last Active" column.

I'm getting an error that says this user is already in CallRail's system. How can I fix this?

If you're trying to add a user whose email address is associated with another CallRail account, you have two options for remedying this:

  1. If they do not need access to the other CallRail account: Ask the user to contact the admin for the account where their email address is currently being used, and request that their email address is deleted from that account.

  2. If they need to retain access to the other CallRail account: Ask that user to request access to your account using these instructions:

    Request Access to Another Account