Google My Business Integration

Every business that serves a specific geographical area can set up a Google My Business (GMB) listing. These listings display on search results pages and Google Maps when someone searches for your business or for keywords that you rank high for.

CallRail's GMB integration automatically swaps the primary phone number listed for your GMB location with a CallRail tracking number, so you can track calls that come from that listing. We also set your actual business number in GMB as a secondary number to maintain NAP consistency

Multiple locations for a given business can be accommodated in CallRail by creating a separate company sub-account for each location. Integrations are company-specific, but there is no limit or cost to creating as many companies in your CallRail account as are necessary.

Click here for more information on setting up companies within your CallRail account.

Setting up your GMB integration in CallRail

  1. Select Settings at the top of the page and choose the company where you'd like to set up the integration.

  2. Find Google My Business on the list of integrations and click Activate.

  3. Click Authorize at the bottom of the page.

  4. Select the Google Account associated with the google GMB location you'd like to track.

  5. When you return to the GMB integration page, select the GMB location you'd like to track from the dropdown menu in the Connect to your GMB location section.

  6. Use the Assign a tracking number section to choose the tracking numbers that this integration will use.

    In this section, click the dropdown menu under CallRail Tracking Number to select the tracking number to use as the primary business number for this GMB location.

    Optionally, you may also click the dropdown menu under Ads Location Extension Number to choose a tracking number to use for that purpose. This number will display in your Google Ads. For more information on ad location extensions, see this help article

    If you'd like to create a new tracking number for either of these, click Create New Number at the bottom of the dropdown after it is opened. On the screens that follow, name your new tracking number and set up further options as desired.

    Note: If you set a location extension in your integration when a different number is already in use, you will need to update Google Ads with the tracking number you have chosen. This will not change automatically. 

  7. Check the box in the Track GMB visitors on your site section to allow UTM parameters to be automatically added to your site's URL. A preview of your URL will display after the box is checked.

    (If this step is applied after your initial GMB integration activation, make sure to click Update to save your changes.)

  8. Click Activate

Note: If you are managing your GMB listing through a directory service (for example, Yext), integration failure is possible unless you disable sync for your listing’s phone number, and maybe the location. These services can overwrite the tracking numbers in your listings. If that happens, the integration will fail and your calls will not be tracked.

Changing your Google Account, Location, or Tracking Number

  1. Select the Settings tab and choose the company where you'd like to change the integration.

  2. Find Google My Business on the list of integrations and click Configure.

  3. Click the link in the first section of the integration page, Use a different account, location, or tracking number.

  4. Select the Google Account you'd like to use.

  5. When you return to the GMB integration page, select the GMB location you'd like to track from the dropdown menu in the Connect to your GMB location section.

  6. Select the tracking number you created for this GMB location from the dropdown menu in the Assign a tracking number section.

  7. Click Activate.

Disabling your GMB integration

  1. Select the Settings tab and choose the company where you'd like to disable the integration.

  2. Find Google My Business on the list of integrations and click Configure.

  3. Click the Disable GMB Integration button on the right side of the page.

Note: Whether only disabling the integration or completely pausing/closing your CallRail account, it is necessary to manually remove your tracking number from your listing if taking any of those actions. Your listing may not update automatically, and calls to a tracking number that remains listed will not connect to your business.

FAQs

I'm subscribed to a legacy pricing plan. Can I still use Google My Business?

Yes, CallRail's Google My Business integration is available to customers on the Starter and Pro legacy pricing plans. You can use the instructions outlined in this article to activate your integration.